My Kind of Minimalism

Finally, a blog entry! Apologies for not updating this blog regularly. Between getting married and enjoying married life, and doing editing work and teaching hundreds of students, I found it quite necessary to forget about this blog. Things are less busy now, thank God, and the downtime required by my first trimester of pregnancy has afforded me some time to think and write.

This entry’s going to be a relatively short one, and it’s on my kind of minimalism.

Minimalism, in general, is all about keeping things simple and recognizing that, as cliché as it may sound, less is more. Practically, miminalism means not wanting and having so much stuff, or, to be more precise, it means living a life that does not depend on how much stuff you want or have.

Now, I’ll be honest: I like stuff. I like discovering new gadgets and pieces of furniture. (Keep me away from stores that sell anything related to home organization or school supplies.) When I find something I like—say, an everyday kind of shirt that fits well—I’ll get it in all available colors. (Curse you, Uniqlo.) And, yes, I easily get tempted by sales and discounts. (I’m looking at you, Zalora.)

I often rationalize my liking so much stuff by highlighting the usefulness and sensibility of the stuff I like. Because it’s true! I like, and eventually have, useful and sensible stuff.

But this is where my relationship with stuff ends. Stuff should be, for me, useful and sensible. Stuff could be stylish, sure, but it should always be useful and sensible. When I want something, it’s not because it will make me happy, but because it will make life easier and simpler. The moment that wanting or having something complicates life or makes life more difficult, is the moment that that something ceases to mean anything to me.

That I expect stuff to be useful and sensible, to make life easier and simpler, is what defines my kind of minimalism. It’s more “don’t be stupid” than it is “less is more.”

So that’s it. That’s my kind of minimalism. Because, seriously, why would you want to have anything that won’t really contribute to your life? Don’t be stupid; more isn’t always better.

Leave a Reply

